VMware vCenter Converter – 1 : What is it? How to install?

vmware-converter-best-practices

1. What is VMware vCenter Converter?

It has been a while since i decided to format but i couldn’t do it because i don’t know how to install properly a static code analysis  platform on my pc. An old colleague of mine did it for me. Eventhough i’m close to figure out all the custom configurations i want for my metrics’ calculations, there is something seriously wrong with my Visual Studio and Sql Server that drives me crazy. In fact, majority of my last articles about Microsoft Sql Server, because all of them were the problems i faced during trying to fix it. But given the fact that last time i format my pc was more than 2 years ago and it’s got a Windows operating system installed, i  think i used it pretty decent.😀😀

Anyway, the reason why i need VMware vCenter Converter is, while i don’t want to format my pc because of my  static code analysis platform. It takes too much time to configure my pc for decent development and it gets broken too often. Then i asked myself “Is it possible to make a virtual copy of my pc’s current state to run as a virtual machine?“. After some quick research, i found this page: http://superuser.com/questions/121820/possible-to-take-a-snapshot-of-a-hard-disc-and-use-it-in-a-virtual-machine

So, yes. It is possible to make a virtual copy of my pc’s current state to run as a virtual machine. It sounds new to me but the topic in the link that shared above is actually 3 years old. So it means people have been using this for a while. But i think with it shall not be a surprise with the development of virtualization solutions, the whole industry is in some kind of transition period.

2. How to install VMware vCenter Converter?

You can download VMware vCenter Converter Standalone from this following link for free. But you’re gonna have to open a VMware account first.  https://my.vmware.com/web/vmware/evalcenter?p=converter

You can also have  User’s guide for VMware vCenter Converter Standalone from this link: https://www.vmware.com/pdf/convsa_55_guide.pdf

Or you can wait for my next post to show how to create virtual clone of existing (on hard drive)

After you downloaded the setup file. You can install VMware vCenter Converter Standalone as in the following video:

Yorum bırakın

Filed under Sanallaştırma

Bir Cevap Yazın

